What Gets You Out of Bed?

Tokyo First Snow 2013-12There’s the question.  What gets you out of bed each morning?  Perhaps school, work, exercise.  For me it is the thought of possibility for the day.  Yes we all have to work and pay the bills, but ultimately is that the reason we come into this world?

Here is the challenge I want to lay down for myself today: Make the world a little better place than it was yesterday.

My training background is adult education, and for me my belief is that knowledge awakens us to the possibilities that we didn’t know were there.  It is very easy to feel helpless when you don’t think you have alternative choices.  We live in a time where if you have any question, or want to learn anything, the answers are a few short keyboard keys and a click away.

Right now I am working on learning how to program.  Not for any particular reason, other than I feel one should always be learning and picking up new skills.  Moreover I would like to eventually start a series of articles that explains programming concepts in terms that non-technical people can understand and appreciate.  After finishing my goal of living in Japan for a bit, this is my new reason to get out of bed. New challenges, new opportunity.

So what is getting you out of bed today? Embrace of new challenges and opportunities, or routine?  Let me know in the comments below, tweet me @ctriff,

Leave a Reply

